Quinn appoints seven members to serve on Commission

Governor Pat Quinn signed an Executive Order on Wednesday forming the Admissions Review Commission to address the University’s “clout list” controversy.

According to the Office of Governor, the Commission is an independent group of seven professional, “public-minded” Illinois citizens.

Retired federal Judge Abner Mikva will chair the Commission. Mikva has served high positions in all three branches of the federal government. He was a member of the U.S. House of Representatives, Illinois from 1968-1979, Chief Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit and a member of the Clinton Administration’s White House Counsel. Additionally, Mikva was a professor at the University of Chicago Law School and served as editor-in-chief of the University of Chicago Law Review Board.

According to the Office of Governor, the other six members of the Commission have backgrounds in education, law, business, non-profit administration and government. The remaining six members include:

Maribeth Vander Weele, a member of the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners and President of Vander Weele Group, Corporate Investigations Firm.

Doris Lowry, member of the South Africa/Chicago Sister Cities Committee and President of Aspen Pine Group.

Ricardo Estrada, Board Member for the Latino Policy Forum and the President and Chief Executive Officer of Erie Elementary Charter School.

Bernard Judge, an award-winning journalist and instructor and Editor and Publisher of the Chicago Daily Law Bulletin from 1988-2007.

Ted Chung, a member of Governor Pat Quinn’s General Counsel who also received an Outstanding Service Award from the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Charles Scholz, former Mayor of Quincy, Illinois and private practice attorney for the Bank of Quincy.

Zaldwaynaka “Z” Scott, a partner at Mayer Brown and former Executive Inspector General for the Office of the Illinois Governor.