The Daily Illini places 2nd in general excellence at ICPA


(First row) Peter Bailey Wells, Miranda Holloway, Kelsie Travers, Megan Jones and Alice Smelyansky (Top row) Masaki Sugimoto, Lil Levant, Matt Silich, Abigale Svoboda, Declan Harty and Michal Dwojak 

By Daily Illini Staff Report

The Daily Illini placed second in general excellence for daily collegiate newspapers at the Illinois College Press Association annual conference in Chicago this weekend.

The general excellence award recognizes the best student news organizations based on three different size divisions, daily, non-daily over 4,000 and non-daily under 4,000. The award is determined by submitted newspapers that are published on or closest to three randomly selected dates.

Northern Illinois University’s newspaper, The Northern Star, placed first in the category.

The Daily Illini also received more than 30 individual awards.


Feature page layout

First place – Unofficial front page by Austin Baird 

Second place – by Torey Butner Need to find what page

Overall front page layout

Third place – Covering Joe Biden’s visit to campus by the design department. See designs on Day 1Day 2 and Day 3.

Sports page layout 

First place – Kelsie Travers 

Second place – Kelsie Travers  

Opinion page layout

Second place – Editorial Board


In-depth reporting

Third place – Chief Illiniwek series by Annabeth Carlson

Feature story

Honorable mention – Keeping the memories alive: The 100th anniversary of the Armenian Genocide by Sarah Foster


Sports column

First place – by Peter Bailey Wells 

Third place – by Peter Bailey Wells 

Sports feature story

Second place – Illini Katrina Gerhard: Finding freedom in the chair by Joey Figueroa 

Third place – Malcolm’s in the middle of it all by Alex Roux 

Sports news story

First place – Former Beckman players from Illinois, Toledo, speak out about treatment by Peter Bailey Wells 

Third place –Illinois women’s basketball assistant coach leaves program under storm of accusations by Peter Bailey Wells and Declan Harty


Column writing 

Honorable mention – Do not cut higher education by Alex Swanson

Editorial writing 

First place – Daily Illini Editorial Board 


Spot news photo

First place – Ryan Fang for covering a rally 

Honorable mention – Torey Butner need to find what photo

Photo essay

First place – Tied to Tyler Courtney and Folake Osibodu for coverage of Curtis Orchard.

Feature photography 

First place – Tyler Courtney 

Second place – Tyler Courtney 

Sports photography 

Second place – Tyler Courtney 


Special supplement 

Third place – Staff 

Entertainment supplement 

Second place – buzz Magazine staff 

Copy writing

Headline writing 

Second place – Copy staff 

Multimedia reporting

Honorable mention – The Human Factor by Zila Renfro 

Creative works 

Advertising campaign 

First place – Creative works staff

Third place – Creative works staff

Full page advertisement design 

Third place – Creative works staff 

Advertisement less than a full page design

Third place – Creative works staff 

In-House promotional ads 

First place – by David Thrift and Jordan Bossert