The Daily Illini wins best college newspaper in Illinois


Brian Bauer

The Daily Illini Staff traveled to Chicago on Saturday, Feb. 18th for the Illinois College Press Association award ceremony.

By Daily Illini Staff Report

The Daily Illini won first place for “General Excellence” and “Online News Website” at the Illinois College Press Association award ceremony in Chicago Saturday afternoon.

The ICPA hosts this competition annually and judges various components of college newspapers from across the state.

Staff members also placed in other categories, including general news, sports photo, photo essay, headline writing, sports page design, sports column, sports feature, sports game story, news story, features story, column, editorial, front page layout, full page ad, advertising campaign and in-house promotional ad.

Here is the full list of awards the staff received. Please visit the website for links to the stories and photos.

First Place- General Excellence: The Daily Illini Staff. 

Three random days, 1 2 3, were chosen for this category.

The Daily Illini Staff- First Place: Online News Site:

The Daily Illini Editorial Board- First Place: Editorial

The Daily Illini Editorial Board- Second Place: Editorial

Matt Silich- First Place: Column other than sports

Peter Bailey-Wells- First Place: Sports Column

Kevin McCarthy- Second Place: Sports Column

Cole Henke- Third Place: Sports Feature Story

Joey Figueroa- First Place: Sports Game Story

Abigale Svoboda- Honorable Mention: News Story

Alice Smelyansky- Third Place: Feature Story

Lily Katz- First Place: Photo Essay

Ryan Fang- Honorable Mention: Photo Essay 

Austin Yattoni- First Place: Sports Photo

Ryan Fang- Second Place: General News Photo

Lily Katz- Honorable Mention: General News Photo (the ninth photo)

Brian Bauer- Second Place: Spot News Photo (the Fourth photo)

Kelsie Travers- First Place: Feature Page Design (front page)

Michelle Tam- Second Place: Feature Page Design (A6)

The Daily Illini Staff- Third Place: Headline Writing (front page headline)

Michelle Tam- Honorable Mention: Sports Page Design (B1)

The Daily Illini Design Staff- Second Place: Front Page Layout 1 2 3

Cate Hummel and Amanda McCash- Third Place: Advertising Campaign

John Morgan- First Place In-House Promotional Ad

John Morgan and Keyanna Turner- Third Place Classified Section

Erin Lin and Cate Hummel- Honorable Mention Full-Page Advertisement

John Morgan and Herb Aji- Honorable Mention Advertisement Less than Full Page

Cheng-Hao Hsieh- First Place Advertisement Less than Full Page

[email protected]