Big Ten awards five Illini players

By Courtney Linehan

Five Illini basketball players earned All-Big Ten recognition Tuesday, when the league announced its All-Conference Honors.

Senior forward Warren Carter received the highest award on the Illini, being named Second Team All-Big Ten by the conference’s coaches. Carter averages 13.4 points, 6.3 rebounds and 2 assists per game.

Junior center Shaun Pruitt earned third team recognition, and senior guard Rich McBride received an honorable mention.

Sophomore guard Chester Frazier earned a spot on the conference’s All-Defensive team. Frazier averages 4.6 rebounds and 1.4 steals per game for the Illini. On offense the sophomore averages 7.3 points and 4.5; assists per game.

Sophomore Trent Meacham received the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award from Illinois.

Wisconsin senior Alando Tucker picked up the Big Ten Player of the Year award. Tucker was also the only player chosen as a unanimous member of the First Team All-Big Ten group. The forward led the conference in scoring in Big Ten games, averaging 19.7 points per game.

Ohio State coach Thad Matta was named the Conference Coach of the Year, and rookie Buckeye Greg Oden earned Freshman of the Year honors. Oden was also recognized as the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year.