Handful of track and field athletes receive conference awards

Multiple Illini on the track and field team received Big Ten accolades after voting by Big Ten coaches.

Andrew Riley was the sixth Illini in school history to be named Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while also earning first team All-Big Ten honors.

Senior Gakologelwang Masheto and junior Gary Miller joined him on the first team All-Big Ten. Miller was also Illinois’ recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

Sophomores Dan Jones and Cody Wisslead were named second-team All-Big Ten to round out the accolades for the men.

Six Illini women received All-Big Ten honors.

Junior Angela Bizzarri, junior Aja Evans and the 4x400m relay of sophomore Melissa Bates, senior Deserea Brown, freshman Ryisha Boyd and senior Omoye Ugiagbe were all named second team All-Big Ten.

Bizzarri was also the Illini’s recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. Additionally, earlier this week Bizzarri was named to the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association All-Academic Team, along with sophomore Chantelle Groenewoud.