Baseball: Illini win several postseason awards

The Big Ten announced its end of season award winners Tuesday. The Illini swept the top three individual awards.

Junior Tyler Jay won pitcher of the year, senior David Kerian won player of the year and Dan Hartleb won coach of the year. This is the first time in Illinois history that the Illini have swept the top three awards.

Jay is currently pitching a 0.67 ERA, which ranks second in the nation. Jay currently stands with a record of 5-1 and has 11 saves on the year.

Kerian has a batting average of .383 with 42 runs 13 home runs and 45 RBIs.

Dan Hartleb is leading the Illini in its greatest season in school history and snagging the Big Ten coach of the year award for the first time in his career.

The Illini also had six players receive All-Big Ten first-team honors and eleven Big Ten honors overall.

Illinois currently stands at 45-6-1 on the season and currently rides a 26 game win streak. The team is also the number one seed going into the Big Ten Tournament that begins Thursday.