Lunt, Smoot added to award watch lists


Daily Illini File Photo

Illinois’ Wes Lunt (12) attempts a pass during the game against Purdue at Memorial Stadium on Saturday Oct. 4.

Senior Illini football players Wes Lunt and Dawaune Smoot received national recognition in the postseason.

Lunt was added to the Maxwell Award watch list. The Maxwell Award is given to the best player in the country at the end of the season.

Smoot was added to the Bednarik Award watch list. The Bednarik Award is given to the best defensive player in the country.

Lunt threw for 2,761 yards and 14 touchdowns in 2015. He will lead an offense that will go without Mikey Dudek for another season and with the loss of other players like Geronimo Allison and Josh Ferguson.
Smoot had eight sacks and 15 TFL last season and is seen as a professional prospect in his senior season.

[email protected]