College of Engineering announces 2011 Siebel Scholars

Computer Science graduate students, Kurchi Subhra Hazra, Tanmay Khirwadkar, Alexander Loeb, Joana M. F. da Trindade and Shivaram Venkataraman have been named the 2011 Siebel Scholars.

“The Siebel Scholars Program recognizes students who have demonstrated academic and leadership excellence at the world’s leading graduate schools of business, computer science, and bioengineering, and confirms the excellence of our institutions,” Ilesanmi Adesida, dean of the College of Engineering, in a press release. “We are very proud to be part of the Siebel Scholars program in our efforts to create informed scholars and leaders, and to be considered among the top institutions in providing this interdisciplinary training.”

The Siebel Scholars program was founded in 2000 and each year many talented Computer Science graduate students are nominated to be a Siebel Scholar.

“After the application process, the Siebel Scholars are then chosen by a selection committee which includes the dean of the college of Engineering and three senior computer science majors,” said Jennifer LaMontagne, associate director of communications in the Department of Computer Science.

According to a press release, the students are chosen on the basis of outstanding academic performance and demonstrated qualities of leadership.