Seventh Annual Innovation Celebration honors Urbana campus

The Seventh Annual Innovation Celebration will take place this Thursday. An event honoring individuals and groups who contribute to the economic success of Champaign County, the Innovation Celebration will present two awards specific to the Urbana campus.

The Urbana nominees are affiliated with the Office of Technology Management and the awards focus on the superior inventorship and entrepreneurship of the nominees. Nominated in the Innovation Discovery category are Brendan Harley, Yi Lu and Gabriel Popescu, one of whom will be honored for a groundbreaking discovery. The Technology Transfer nominees are Diagnostic Photonics, Inc., David Kranz and Vijay Singh, who were nominated for their commercialization of an innovation.

The Innovation Celebration will take place this Thursday in the atrium and auditorium of the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology. It will begin with a networking reception in the atrium at 5:30 p.m. and the awards ceremony will begin at 6 p.m.