Stage set for Champaign Council election

By ME Online

The Champaign City Council primary election held Tuesday has set the stage for three current council members and three new comers to face off in a general election on April 17.

The six candidates will run for the three at-large seats in the April general election. Current council members Deborah Frank Feinen, Tom Bruno and Giraldo Rosales will all be on the general election ballot. The newcomers include Karen Foster, Patricia Avery and Annette Williams.

The official results will not be in for two weeks due to absentee ballots and provisional votes but, the outcome will not change, said Mark Shelden, county clerk for Champaign County.

Bill Glithero, Michael Henley and Freddie Gordon lost the primary election and will not appear on the ballot in April.