Blagojevich waiting for disaster declaration approval

By Brittany Abeijon

Gov. Rod Blagojevich asked President Bush to declare 15 southern Illinois counties major disaster areas as a result of flooding that devastated those areas in March, damaging hundreds of homes and businesses. As of Friday, the Governor’s office is still waiting for the approval.

If approved, this would allow those people and businesses affected to apply for grants and loans to help with flood losses.

Counties included are: Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Marion, Massac, Perry, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Union, White and Williamson.

“From out damage assessments, it’s clear that federal assistance is needed to help the people of southern Illinois recover from this devastating flood,” Blagojevich said. “I’m urging the President and FEMA to quickly approve my request for a federal disaster declaration so we can get these people the help they need.”

Pam Nisivaco contributed to this report.

Get The Daily Illini in your inbox!

  • Catch the latest on University of Illinois news, sports, and more. Delivered every weekday.
  • Stay up to date on all things Illini sports. Delivered every Monday.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Thank you for subscribing!