New SEC leaders named

By Maggie Sullivan

Gay Miller, current educational policy chair for the Senate Executive Committee, will serve as chair of the executive committee for the 2015-2016 academic year. Miller won the election over Hadi Esfahani, professor in economics, and will succeed Roy Campbell, who did not seek reelection. Kim Graber will continue to serve as vice chair.

Miller has held her role on the committee as educational policy chair since 2011. She earned a Ph.D. in agricultural economics from Ohio State University and has taught at the University since 1994. Miller primarily works as a professor in pathobiology, however, she also serves as a professor in the department of veterinary and clinical medicine, as well as in the department of agriculture and consumer economics.

Additionally, Miller was the associate dean for Academic and Student Affairs from 1994 to 1997. She also served as the chair of epidemiology and preventative medicine from 2003 to 2005, and again from 2007 to 2011.

Graber has also been a member of the University faculty since 1994. She received her doctorate from the University of Massachusetts and is now an associate professor in kinesiology and community health. Graber has served as the director of the applied health teaching academy since 2007 as well as the director of the campus honors program since 2013. Miller and Graber could not be immediately reached for comment.