Senate Executive Committee Chair Miller names search committee for chancellor

By Daily Illini Staff Report

Senate Executive Committee Chair Gay Miller has named the members of a search committee charged with advising President Timothy Killeen on the selection of a new University chancellor.

The campus community was notified of the members of the committee via massmail sent out Friday afternoon. The committee includes faculty, students, academic professionals, deans and staff at the University. The members were chosen by the election to select a search committee to advise the president on the selection of a Chancellor, which concluded Friday at 12:00 p.m. According to the massmail, the committee will be convened “soon after” the Search Committee Chair is named.

The President will select one of the two chair nominees to serve as the committee chair to advise him in the committee to advise on the selection of a chancellor.

Chair nominees include Antoinette Burton of LAS and William Maher in Library.

Faculty on the search committee to advise the President on selection of a Chancellor are James Anderson and Rebecca Ginsburg in the College of Education, Sara Benson from the College of Law, Steve Michael from the College of Business, Faranak Miraftab of FAA, Mark J. Rood from the College of Engineering and Jay Rosenstein from the College of Media.

Darcy Sementi, the assistant dean for MBA programs, was named to the advisory committee as an academic professional. Deans and directors included Arthur Kramer, the director of the Beckman Institute.

Leta Summers of facilities and services was named to the committee as a staff member.

The search committee to advise the President on the selection of a chancellor also includes three students: Kaylee Barron in the College of Education, Samuel LeRoy in the College of Business and Paul Schmitt in the College of Law.