Nancy Makri elected to the National Academy of Sciences

By Ella Narag, News Editor

Nancy Makri, professor in LAS, was elected to be part of the National Academy of Sciences in early May. She joins 119 domestic and 23 international researchers as newly elected members.

NAS is a private, nonprofit organization, consisting of “the country’s leading researchers,” according to their website. It goes on to say that “membership is a widely accepted mark of excellence in science and is considered one of the highest honors that a scientist can receive.”

Researchers are selected to be part of the organization based on “distinguished and continuing achievements in original research,” the website says. 

Makri was recognized for her work in theoretical quantum dynamics of condensed phase processes. According to her University page, her research interests apply tunneling and coherence phenomena, proton and electron transfer reactions in solution and biological systems and excitation energy transfer in molecular aggregates.

Makri also serves as the Edward William and Jane Marr Gutgsell chair at the University. This endowed appointment was created in 1988 “to promote faculty development and to ensure high achievement.”

    Sign up for our newsletter!

    Makri has received many other accolades as well, including the Beckman Young Investigator Award and the Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award. She also serves as a member on the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science. 

    This year, she was also selected for the 2023 Award in Theoretical Chemistry of the American Chemical Society. According to the ACS, this annual award is presented “in recognition of innovative research in theoretical chemistry that either advances theoretical methodology or contributes to new discoveries about chemical systems.”

    Makri graduated from the University of Athens in 1985 and received her doctorate from the University of California, Berkeley in 1989. She then spent two years at Harvard as a junior fellow before joining the University of Illinois faculty in 1992. 


    [email protected]