Big Ten presidents’ salaries ranked

By Samantha Boyle, Managing Editor for Reporting

No. 1, President Morton Schapiro: $1.59 million

Northwestern University

No. 2, President Jonathan Holloway: $1.20 million

Rutgers University

No. 3, President Walter E. Carter Jr.: $934,600

    Sign up for our newsletter!

    University of Nebraska

    No. 4, President Mitch Daniels: $901,450

    Purdue University

    No. 5, President Kristina M. Johnson: $900,000

    Ohio State University

    No. 6, President Eric Barron: $855,228

    Pennsylvania State University

    No. 7, President Mark Schlissel: $852,346

    University of Michigan

    No. 8, President Timothy Killeen: $835,000

    University of Illinois

    No. 9, President Samuel Stanley: $800,000

    Michigan State University

    No. 10, President Bruce Harreld: $790,000

    University of Iowa

    No. 11, President Michael McRobbie: $639,846

    Indiana University

    No. 12, President Joan Gabel: $640,000

    University of Minnesota

    No. 13, President Tommy Thompson: $489,334

    University of Wisconsin

    No. 14, President Darryll Pines: current salary not available* 

    University of Maryland

    *Pines was hired as president in 2020 but as dean at the same school made $383,000