Dike Eddleman Athlete of the Year Award recipients announced

By Will Gerard, Staff Writer

Isaiah Martinez and Jocelynn Birks were today selected for the Dike Eddleman Award, which is annual awarded to the top male and female athlete at the University as voted on by Illinois head coaches and the DIA athletics awards committee.

Martinez had continued success over the past season following an undefeated season, winning a second consecutive national championship as a sophomore in the 157-pound weight class. He recorded a 32-1 overall record and led the nation with 14 victories by technical fall. In October, Martinez will represent Team USA at the University World Championships in Turkey.

Birks concluded her Illinois volleyball career the program’s all-time leader in kills with 1,972, earning All-American honors for a third-straight season as an honorable mention recipient. The All-Big Ten outside hitter finished the season ranked third in the conference in kills per set with a 3.95 average and led the Illini to a third NCAA Sweet 16 appearance.

As award recipients, Martinez and Birks have both received nomination for Big Ten Athlete of the Year.