DI staff brings 23 awards home from Illinois College Press Association Convention


Photo courtesy of Mark Capapas

The Daily Illini staff Cameron Krasucki, Heather Robinson, and Drew Friberg attend the Illinois College Press Association ceremony on Saturday.

By Heather Robinson, Editor-in-Chief

The Daily Illini staff traveled to Chicago on Friday for the annual Illinois College Press Association Conference, where collegiate newspapers from across the state compete across various categories. 

The DI took home third place in the Sweepstakes category for a cumulation of overall points awarded, behind The Vidette of Illinois State University and The Daily Northwestern. 

1st place awards:

Editorial – DI Staff

Entertainment Supplement – buzz Staff

Digital Advertisement  – Mason Rousey

Get The Daily Illini in your inbox!

  • Catch the latest on University of Illinois news, sports, and more. Delivered every weekday.
  • Stay up to date on all things Illini sports. Delivered every Monday.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Thank you for subscribing!

Sports Column – Claire O’Brien

Shoot Chicago Competition – Cameron Krasucki

Photo Essay – Cameron Krasucki

Photo Essay – Cameron Krasucki

2nd place awards:

Feature Page Design – DI Staff

Column – Rayna Wuh

News Story – Amrita Bhattacharyya

General News Photo – Cameron Krasucki

Feature Photo – Cameron Krasucki

3rd place awards:

Sweepstakes – The Daily Illini

General Excellence (Web) – DI Staff

Sports Page Design – DI Staff

In-Depth Reporting – Farrah Anderson 

Photo Essay – Cameron Krasucki 

Sports Feature Story – Jackson Janes

Honorable Mention awards:

Online News site – DI Staff

Editorial – DI Staff

Headline Writing – DI Staff

Sports Page Design – DI Staff

Sports Podcast – Brendyn Jones

Sports Podcast – Josh Pietsch


[email protected]